The Unknown Flower

So a little over a year ago my family and I were able to spend a little time traveling and we spent some time camping in the Columbia River Gorge in Washington State. I loved getting to check out a completely different climate then I am use to. It is a very dry and prairie like and the Columbia River creates this oasis in the middle of this vastness. We were there in late April/early May and the wildflowers were just starting to bloom. I have been able to identify most of the them but this little flower eludes me. I found it in the sandy/rocky shores of the Columbia River. It didn’t grow towards the sun, like most flowers but seemed to crawl along the sand. It looked like someone had gone and blown down groups of these flowers all along the shore. So, if anyone has a suggestion on what this flower might be I would love to hear it.

purpleflower

 

Leave a Reply

