Light Trails

During the winter, when we have very little sunlight, I spend hours out chasing the Aurora. Sometimes I am successful and catch the glimpses of green, purple and pink lights dancing across the sky but some nights are a bust and you spend hours in your vehicle entertaining yourself. On one such night I decided to try my hand at light trails. Essentially you open your lens for longer than normal and it creates a trail of any light. When your doing these kind of shots you camera needs to be on a tripod, otherwise you environment will look shaky. On this particular shot I left my shutter open for 5 seconds. Since I was sitting next to this bridge I thought it would be the perfect time to play with it and you see the results below.

funlighttrail copy

Leave a Reply

